A New Beginning

photography by Mary Lou Jacobs

Single Image HDR

I started with a JPEG image that was shot in Door County, WI about 4 years ago. While exploring on country roads we came across this potter’s workshop. The owner was gracious and gave us a tour of her work area.

This is the before image.

In PSE 9 I cropped the image. Then I took it into Topaz Adjust 5, Topaz Denoise, Topaz B&W Effects and Topaz Lens Effects following Steve Rich’s Tutorial. The texture I used is Captain Kimo’s texture #21 (the textures are part of the ebook package).

Enjoy!!

Please remember if you choose to use any of the links or tutorials on this blog that you give credit to the author.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Single Image HDR

  1. Wow – nice. I love what the processing has done to the building & greenery. It made your clouds a little dark – that always happens to me, too, and I’m not sure how to prevent it other than masking, which leaves them too washed out. Any ideas?

  2. Hi Val, I suggest you use your Dodge or Burn tool in Elements. The Dodge and Burn tool icon are located at the bottom of your tool pallet. Make sure all layers are merged, you want to Dodge or Burn on a flatten image. In this case, Dodging the clouds will lighten them up. I hope this helps.

  3. Kay taylor on said:

    Love your pic. We just left Door County this morning!!!!

  4. Very nice results.

  5. Tammy on said:

    Another one I need to try….I will have time when the boys move into the dorms! 🙂 Do you think the Kimo package is well worth the Money…I have been looking at it.

  6. This is my favourite of the new bunch (To Me).

  7. Pingback: A New Beginning

Leave a Reply

