A New Beginning

photography by Mary Lou Jacobs

Texture Overlay

I took this image at a Farmer’s Market in downtown Chicago. As I strolled through the Market I pulled out my iPhone 4S and clicked away!! I decided I was just going to ‘play’ with this image, not spend a lot of time and just have fun!! I have had the texture for a long time and I don’t have a link for it. There are many websites where you can get free textures. If you would like me to post some of the links please let me know.

Before

After ~ Please click on the image to see the full effect.

Workflow

  1. Select an image and duplicate it.
  2. Complete basic edits, cropping etc.
  3. Open Topaz Lens Effects. In the Effects Panel click on Filters – Diffusion. In the Presets Panel click on Generous.
  4. Click OK. This will take you back to PSE.
  5. Lower the Opacity of the Lens Effects layer to your liking.
  6. Pick a texture. You may have to try several different ones. The texture should be your top layer.
  7. Chose a blend mode. I used Soft Light and lowered the opacity.
  8. CMD + option + shift + E on a Mac or CTL + option + shift + E on a PC to make a composite layer.

Have Fun and Enjoy!!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Texture Overlay

  1. Love the effect that the texture gives to the flower.

  2. Very cool texture, I like it a lot. Maybe I should start adding some texture to my images! The iPhone does really set the standard of what camera phones have to be now.

  3. Tammy on said:

    Love your results…the texture and diffusing really makes this great image artistic!

Leave a Reply

