A New Beginning

photography by Mary Lou Jacobs

Removing the Subject from an Image

August is Topaz Masking Month so I decided to use ReMask on this image. I took a plain ordinary image and used ReMask to make it a ‘useable’ image. If you don’t have any of the Topaz Filters go to Topaz Labs and download any one of them FREE for 30 days. You will be happy that you did!!

Here’s the original image of Rockefeller Chapel at the University of Chicago taken with my Nikon D80.

This is the ‘after’ image. Please click on the image for the full effect.

Workflow

Topaz Labs webinairs are great learning tools. The one I used for this image is from their Quick Tip Thursday series ‘Understanding Layer Masks in PhotoFXLab‘.

1. Duplicate your image and make any general edits.

2. I did this in PhotoFXLab using Topaz ReMask but it can also be done in the stand alone Topaz ReMask.

3. I followed the webinair to remove the chapel from the original image.

4. Once that was done I took the image into Topaz Detail did my edits and went back to PSE9.

5. I have a folder with different sky images that I have taken for this very purpose. I chose the sky that I thought would fit this image and opened it in PSE9 making it the layer beneath the chapel that I had removed in ReMask. I then positioned it where I wanted it.

6. Next is the composite layer which combines your layers into one layer keeping your original layers as they were.

7. Working on the composite layer I sharpened (not much) the image using Enhance ~ Unsharp Mask. My settings were Amount 75 ~ Radius 1.0 ~ Threshold 3.

8. Last I added a very slight blur using Blur ~ Gaussian Blur 0.6 just to put the finishing touches on the image.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Enjoy!!

As always please remember if you choose to use any of the links or tutorials on this blog that you give credit to the author.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Removing the Subject from an Image

  1. Wow Mary, you did a fantastic job, I would have never known the sky was changed.

  2. Really nice sky replacement with NO fringing.

Leave a Reply

