A New Beginning

photography by Mary Lou Jacobs

Textures, Textures and More Textures!!

It’s no secret…I love textures!! I came across this awesome website with oil painting textures, png files, brushes, tutorials and much more. Leslie Nicole at French Kiss Textures has put a lot of time and love into her website. She runs great sales and has a FREEBIE Collection as well.

I used her Purple Prose Texture which is FREE when you sign up for her newsletter.

While this may look difficult it is not!!

Workflow in PSE9

1. Choose your texture and the image of your choice.

2. The texture is on the top layer with the image beneath it.

3. I changed the blend mode of the texture to Overlay and lowered the Opacity so the image shows through.

4. Next, with the texture layer turned off, I added a white mask to the image layer and with a black brush painted away the parts of the image I didn’t want included.

5. I lowered the Opacity of the image layer until I got the look that I wanted.

For this image the Opacity of the texture layer is 41% and the Opacity of the image layer is 45%. That’s all there is to it!!

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Enjoy!!

As always please remember if you choose to use any of the links or tutorials on this blog that you give credit to the author.

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “Textures, Textures and More Textures!!

  1. Another stunner!!

  2. Pingback: Textures! | Abramson's Corner

  3. Pingback: Textures, Textures and More Textures!! « Victry1's 2010 Photowalk

  4. The moving finger writes and having writ, Moves on;
    Not all your Piety nor wit can call it back, to cancel half a line;
    Nor all thy tears wash out a word of it, Neither a Rose by any Name.
    Whoops looks like I’m suffering Quotamixamatosis again.

  5. Really nice Mary Lou!!

  6. Thanks for the link.
    Beautiful results with the texture.

  7. this is lovely, I have just started a basic KK class which is so exciting and have looked at L.N.’s FKSeries, thanks for sharing.

  8. So, so lovely!!

  9. Hi, I see that you put up the link for kim klaussen!s blog and textures! Isn’t it a great place. I’m going to go check out French kiss too!

  10. Wow, Mary Lou! Your photos are beautiful, and I love all of the things you’re learning about and sharing with your fans. Thank you! Much love, Leslie

  11. You got one heck of a masterpiece there Mary Lou!

  12. Trying to catch up on what you’ve been up to, this is fabulous!

Leave a Reply

