A New Beginning

photography by Mary Lou Jacobs

Butterfly Metamorphosis

Butterflies are my second favorite subject to photograph. This photograph was taken with my Nikon D80 and has been sitting on my computer for 4 years. I love the butterfly in this image but I couldn’t decide how to change the very blah background. I have become quite the ‘texture’ addict and decided to see what I could do. The textures I used here are from French Kiss Collection and I did purchase them. You can find free textures at Shadowhouse Creations, Rita’s Coffee  Shop  or do a Google search to find free textures to use as well.

Original

With Textures

Workflow

!. Duplicate image.

2. Edit your image to your liking.

3. Open a texture of your choice. I used FrenchKiss Collection’s Artiste Flower Garden. I changed the Blend Mode to Overlay and lowered the Opacity to 66%.

4. Next I used the eraser set at 28% Opacity and erased the parts of the texture where I wanted to see more of the subject.

5. I found a second texture that I wanted to use as an overlay. I choose French Kiss Collection Artiste Bold Brush 1, changed the Blend Mode to Soft Light and left the Opacity at 100%.

6. I created a composite layer ~  CMD + option + shift + E on a Mac or CTL + ALT + shift + E on a PC. That’s it!!

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Enjoy!!

As always please remember if you choose to use any of the links or tutorials on this blog that you give credit to the author.

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “Butterfly Metamorphosis

  1. I love the texture, I have just purchased Perfect Effects 3 from onOne and am looking forward to experiment with with all the new gizmos.

  2. Pingback: Butterfly Metamorphosis « A New Beginning | Abramson's Corner

  3. I need to get over here and play w/ your tutorials! Your results here are simply magnificent! Love this!

  4. Really made your butterfly pop. Nicely done!!

  5. Very nice and good editing. Thanks for the description also.

  6. I love your end result, so appreciate that your posts are tutorials as well, the go well with the KKlassen classes…I’ve a question, why did you use the eraser to remove some of the texture instead of a brush method?

  7. This is beautiful Mary Lou!!!

  8. Beautiful results.
    Love what can be done with textures.

  9. Gorgeous transformation.

  10. Mary Lou, this is just beautiful!

Leave a Reply

