A New Beginning

photography by Mary Lou Jacobs

Milk Weed Pod

I dug deep into the archives for this image. This is another one that I have had for a while just waiting to find the perfect post processing for it. I’m glad I saved it!!

Before

 

After

Workflow

1. Duplicate image and do your normal edits. In addition to the edits I generally do I ran this through Topaz Clean using the DeGrunge Preset.

2. Pick a texture. I used French Kiss Textures Paysage texture from the Tableaux Collection.  You can find Free textures at Shadowhouse Creations, Rita’s Coffee Shop, or a Google search will find more sites.

3. The texture layer should be layer 2 and should be above the duplicated image. I left the Blend Mode at Normal and reduced the Opacity to 40%

4. Add a white mask to the texture layer and use a black brush to paint away the unwanted parts of the texture changing the opacity accordingly.

5. Add a grunge texture overlay, change the blend mode to your liking and lower the opacity. I used Multiply and lowered the opacity to 85%. If you want to change the color of the overlay, add a Color Fill Adjustment Layer and clip it to the mask so it only changes the color of the mask. These are some free Overlays from French Kiss Textures or you can do a Google search.

6. Create a composite layer ~  CMD + option + shift + E on a Mac or CTL + ALT + shift + E on a PC.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Enjoy!!

As always please remember if you choose to use any of the links or tutorials on this blog that you give credit to the author.

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Milk Weed Pod

  1. Interesting that your before is cropped differently to the after, I think I prefer the before for that!

  2. LOVE your results…I know I keep saying this, but I need to play more!

  3. This is lovely. You are not helping my compulsive photo hoarding, though…I keep everything, thinking “one day I’ll process this in an amazing way!”

  4. The are both lovely…but is it OK if I say I like the BEFORE image better? It’s so crisp and *light.*

  5. I thought that since you chose an old archive that the top shot was the processed one. After reading the workflow and enlarging the processed image and saw the subtle texture I understood what this tutorial was about. Thanks for sharing you are always inspiring for learning new techniques.

  6. Absolutely beautiful!
    I wish you and your family a wonderful Thanksgiving.

  7. you’ve done a beautiful job…inspiring, I’ve copied and saved the work flow, thanks tons…

  8. You are making such beautiful images lately.. How generous of you to share your work flow!

  9. WoW Mary Lou! That is a fantastic image, loving it.

Leave a Reply

