A New Beginning

photography by Mary Lou Jacobs

Photoshop Elements 11…or Not!!

I downloaded the 30-day free trial of Photoshop Elements 11 thinking that way I could talk myself out of it!! I was doing a good job and then several of my friends posted images using the Graphic Novel filter. I thought to myself…I think I’ll just play around with it because it looks like fun. Now I think I’m hooked on getting it!!

I used the Graphic Novel filter in PSE 11 and then added a mask. I used a black brush on a white mask and painted over the car to bring back some detail. Then I took the image into Photo Effects 4 using the Radial Blur and the Edges to Black vignette.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Enjoy!!

As always please remember if you choose to use any of the links or tutorials on this blog that you give credit to the author.

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “Photoshop Elements 11…or Not!!

  1. Kay taylor on said:

    Looks great! Now I’m wondering if I need photo effects 4. ?? Is it worth it?

  2. I am hooked on this new effect in Elements 11. I have so many images waiting on that Saturday Evening Post look. When I saw Liz demo this filter, I was hooked. Also, I see people asking about Perfect Effects 4. I am just getting into it and love it. I have the entire suit and still have not used everything yet. I just LOVE Perfect Effects 4 and like how well it works, I like how you can apply the preset, then INVERT, then apply only the preset to specific areas of the image. My work flow is Camera to Adobe Bridge, from Bridge I DO NOT copy into Lightroom, I ADD, this prevents duplication and simply LINKS over your images from their original location. Any editing in Lightroom will add the new image back in Bridge. From Lightroom I have Photoshop Elements 11 linked, (I call it tethered), from Elements 11 I can place the image into Perfect Effects 4 by selecting the File, Automate from the Elements 11 screen controls. I hope this helps. I will be posting this on my FB page.

  3. terrific end result…the possibilities with a simple photo are endless!

  4. I’m sticking with PSE10 but the Utility looks a treat!

  5. Fantastic results!

  6. And here I’ve been telling my self I do NOT need it! This just pops.

  7. Absolutely beautiful, Mary Lou!

  8. Stunning result!

  9. This is a knockout!
    Nice that the price is so low this weekend

  10. Great stuff, love how the red pops out at you.

  11. It’s so cool that you can take your photos and transform them like that. If you ask me, I’d buy it!

Leave a Reply

